NOSORH Members

State Offices of Rural Health

All 50 states have a SORH. These offices vary in size, scope, organization, and in services and resources they provide. Most are organized within the state health departments, but some are located in universities or not-for-profit organizations.

The general purpose of each SORH is to help their individual rural communities build healthcare delivery systems. While funding levels and sources also vary, every state receives a portion of their funding from the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy through the SORH Grant program, begun in 1991.

With this grant, a SORH is expected to:

  • Collect and disseminate information
  • Coordinate rural healthcare activities in states in order to avoid duplication
  • Provide technical assistance to public and non-profit private entities