The NOSORH Awards honor and celebrate the exemplary work and leadership of State Offices of Rural Health, individuals and organizations dedicated to rural health.

It’s time to nominate a deserving individual/organization for a NOSORH Award! 

Selections will be made solely on the basis of the narrative submitted (500 words or less) in the online nomination form. There are no limits to the number of nominations submitted.

Awards will be presented virtually during the NOSORH Annual Meeting on September 30, 2020.

Award Categories


SORH Award of Excellence

This award is presented to a State Office of Rural Health that has made outstanding contributions in the field of rural health, including broad benefits to rural health, innovative programs and activities that have advanced State Offices of Rural Health.

James D. Bernstein Mentoring Award

This award honors an experienced rural health individual leader in a State Office of Rural Health who has a sincere interest in emerging leaders’ professional growth and has played a key role in developing future leaders within the national rural health movement.

Emerging Leader Award

This award is presented to an individual State Office of Rural Health staff member, new or existing, who has demonstrated new leadership, initiative, involvement or commitment to the mission of NOSORH or State Offices of Rural Health. This individual will have shown exemplary communication, passion, or understanding of an issue to enhance education, advocacy or partnerships to improve rural health.


The Andrew W. Nichols Rural Health Advocate Award

This award recognizes an individual or organization who has made significant contributions to rural, frontier, or border health, demonstrating deep commitment to health equity and improving the health of underserved populations.

NOSORH Legislator of the Year Award

This award recognizes an outstanding individual federal legislator for her/his work and support of rural health initiatives that address national rural healthcare needs. Individuals who meet the following criteria should be considered: introduced or supported an existing piece of significant legislation that addresses an identified rural health need or issue; made a special effort to effect change in rural health policy and/or legislation that benefits SORH, rural health outcomes; OR demonstrated leadership that benefits rural communities.