Twitter Chat: Census Engagement Opportunities for Rural Health Stakeholders

  • Start:
    February 27, 2020 2:00 pm
  • End:
    February 27, 2020 3:00 pm

Date: Thursday, February 27, 2020
Time: 11:00 a.m. Pacific; 12:00 p.m. Mountain; 1:00 p.m. Central; 2:00 p.m. Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Rural and frontier communities are at risk of being undercounted in the U.S. Census, as nearly 70 percent of the hard-to-count population lives in these areas. An accurate census count is critical because it determines the allocation of federal funding and ensures fair political representation.

On February 27th, join us to discuss the challenges to reaching hard-to-count populations and learn about the strategies rural health stakeholders are using to maximize responses in rural communities. We’ll be using the hashtag #RuralHealthChat to tweet with experts from around the country who are excited to share their knowledge. Everyone is welcome to provide comments, questions, or just follow along!

Co-Host:

  • National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) – @NOSORH

Special Guests:

  • Allen Smart, Founder, PhilanthropywoRx – @allensmart6
  • Nelsy Dominguez, Program Director, Con Alma Health Foundation – @nmhealth
  • Ty Borders, Director, UK Center for Rural and Underserved Health Research Center – @rural_center
  • Teryn Zmuda, Deputy Chief Innovation Officer and Chief Economist, National Association of Counties – @NACoTweets
  • Rural Policy Research Institute – @RUPRIhealth
  • NORC Walsh Center for Rural Health Analysis – @WalshCenter
  • County Health Rankings & Roadmaps – @CHRankings

Participation:

Log onto Twitter and follow the #RuralHealthChat hashtag. The RHIhub will tweet questions regarding our topic and special guests and other attendees may jump in with answers! Questions will be numbered using Q1, Q2, etc. and answers should begin with A1, A2, etc., matching the question they belong to. If you would like to join in, be sure to use the #RuralHealthChat hashtag in your tweet! All participants may follow along and jump in when they want to contribute answers or questions.

Questions:

  • Q1: Why is it important that rural and frontier communities are accurately counted in the 2020 Census? Who else is likely to be undercounted?
  • Q2: Why should healthcare organizations be concerned about rural undercount?
  • Q3: What are the biggest challenges to reaching hard-to-count populations?
  • Q4: How can rural organizations and communities help the Census Bureau reach hard-to-count populations?
  • Q5: Tell us about what is currently being done to maximize responses in rural areas.
  • Q6: What tips do you have for rural communities?
  • Q7: What resources are available to those who are looking to increase Census participation in rural areas?

If you have any questions, please contact Lexie Schmidt at lexie@ruralhealthinfo.org or 701.777.6046.

Leave a reply