As a previous winner of the Emerging Leader Award, Sharla Allen knows what it feels like to be recognized by her colleagues. As the Awards Committee chair, the Wyoming Office of Rural Health manager also knows how rewarding it can be to play a role in determining the winners.

“When I won the Emerging Leader Award it was so exciting because it meant that my peers saw something in me that brought value to my state office and NOSORH,” she said. “And being on the committee that picks the winners is special because I know how much it means to hear your name called and be recognized by your colleagues.”

Allen chairs the 15 member committee that determines the winners of the 7 awards given out each year at NOSORH’s Annual Meeting.  Nominees have the privilege of honoring the winner by presenting the awards.  According to Allen, nominations can be made at any time during the year, but the big push for nominations is late summer into fall.

Allen encourages anyone who wants to have a role in recognizing the accomplishments of their peers to join the Awards Committee. “I’ve been on the committee for 4 years now. Time really does fly when you’re having fun,” she said.

Nominations for the 2014 awards are being accepted through October 5th. It’s easy to make your nomination, just click   To view a list of past award recipients click here.


Back to October Branch